Watch Out For These 6 Things That May Appear Vegan But Are Not

Sharing is caring!
Share on Facebook0Pin on Pinterest2Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on LinkedIn0

Did you know about these hidden non-vegan ingredients in these foods?

As vegans, we have to learn to read labels and understand what is in the food we are buying. Unfortunately it is not uncommon for some foods that are totally vegan on the first look, to have some hidden ingredients that make them far from vegan!

So be careful what you buy. I’m sure that most vegans will be surprised over some of the foods included in the list below as I was.

1. Soy cheese

SoyProducts

 

That can’t be true, right? Actually, it can. We can’t explain the decision of some manufacturers to add casein (milk protein) to a product most likely to be purchased by vegans, but it happens. Check the label before you buy.

2. Peanuts

seasoned-peanuts-388793_640

Unless you crack the nuts yourself, skip the peanuts. Some brands may use gelatin as an additive.

3. Refried beans

You can buy vegan refried beans, and many restaurants use them as well, but traditional refried beans are made with lard.

4. Orange juice

juice-364945_640

That’s right! Even things that seem like they should come from Mother Earth could actually be hiding a dark secret. Some OJs are fortified with additional omega-3s that are derived from fish.

5. Beer and wine

beer-wine

Many breweries and wineries use a membrane that comes from the bladders of tropical fish to filter their beverages. So before you make a purchase, check the internet to ensure that brand is vegan.

6. Some sugar

lump-sugar-548647_640

White sugar gets its color from a refining process that often involves the use of bone char, meaning even though it’s not directly an animal product, it’s not vegan. But don’t opt for brown sugar, confectioners’ sugar or even “raw” sugar. All of them are made from refined white sugar. Some sugar manufacturers are certified vegan, so check the company’s website or PETA to find out. Or just opt, instead, for maple syrup or agave nectar as a sweetener.

Source

Soy Cheese image source